Home > web > Malicious website mimicing twitter

Malicious website mimicing twitter

February 13th, 2010

You may receive a direct message from one of your friends saying:

Hi, xxx! A new twitter service! Try it, nice one! http://twltter.ru/

Don’t click the link! I clicked and it’s exactly identical to twitter’s own interface. I thought it was twitter so I entered my username/password, but nothing happened. After a few hours I realize this might be a malicious website. So I changed my twitter password.

Social networks make us more connected — but also more vulnerable for virus to spread. Be careful.

Author: Xu Cui Categories: web Tags:
Try Stork, a research tool we developed

Stork is a publication alert app developed by us at Stanford. As a researcher we often forget to follow up important publications - and it's practically impossible to search many keywords or researchers' names everyday. Stork can help us to search everyday and notifies us when there are new publications/grants. How Stork helped me?

About the author:

Xu Cui is a human brain research scientist in Stanford University. He lives in the Bay Area in the United States. He is also the founder of Stork (smart publication alert app), PaperBox and BizGenius.


He was born in He'nan province, China. He received education in Beijing University(BS), University of Tennessee (Knoxville) (MS), Baylor College of Medicine (PhD) and Stanford University (PostDoc). Read more ...
  1. February 14th, 2010 at 04:56 | #1

    Thanks, i got exactly the same message and was confused about the ru-Domain…